Getting Back into the Habit of Writing

A while ago, I started a new WIP. It’s supposed to be a series of novellas (because I can do shorter stuff much better than long stuff), not related to my children’s  books, and aimed at a more general audience (probably teenagers and up). In a way, it’s an experiment. It’s something new, something that I think may find its audience way easier than children’s and middle grade books, at least when most of your marketing is done online.

It’s been fun writing it so far, even though my initial plan to actually plot before writing this time didn’t really work out. Two days ago, my MC grabbed what little plot I had and ran away with it, laughing at me. So I’m back at doing what I always do: pantsing my way through the story. Granted, it’s fun writing this way since it keeps me interested in what happens next, but it’s not exactly the best way to make me write faster, since it tends to go slow as I may have to stop to figure out what the heck is happening in my story every now and then.

So I set myself a manageable goal of 2,500 words per week (yes, I’m a slow writer, and have always been a slow writer even before my brain fog got worse). And I’m trying to make it a habit to write regularly. My surgery two weeks ago threw me off but I’m back on it. Not up to speed yet, but writing. And by golly, I have missed the feeling of actually being a writer! It’s been far too long since I wrote my children’s books, and then there were a few years of hardly any writing following a burn-out from freelance translating and editing. Which made me feel like an imposter at times, being in those writing and writer’s groups. I hardly talked about my published books, even pulled them from sale for a while after moving since I couldn’t get myself to change the contact information and re-upload the files.

It’s about time to change that again. I am a writer. I am a storyteller. I have published some darn amazing children’s books, even if I haven’t broken any sales records with them. I know they’ve had a positive impact on people’s lives. I know it from the reviews, and from personal feedback. I know it from the excitedly glowing eyes of a girl when she heard there was a second Miro book out in German, begging her grandmother to let her buy it with her pocket money. It’s time to be proud of it again, and to own it.

I’ll make a page on this blog dedicated to my published books, just as a showcase to allow you to window-shop. And I’ll probably start talking about writing a lot more than I used to on here (that doesn’t mean that I’ll stop talking about other stuff, though).

I am a writer. And it feels good.

Leave a Reply

