First Week of Summer Semester

So the summer semester has started in Germany. Here’s a short log of my first week back (partially written thanks to my time machine):

Monday, April 17

No university due to it being a bank holiday; semester officially starts on Tuesday.

Tuesday, April 18

No classes for me. Doctor’s appointment early in the morning so being a zombie for the rest of the day. Still, excitement of going back to university after my long health-related break builds up. Also, looking forward to seeing my profs again. Double-checking online that class actually starts tomorrow; becoming dimly aware of a special event called “Tag der Lehre” (~ Day of Teaching) at university tomorrow, which I won’t be able to visit since it’s at the same time as my class. Oh well.

Wednesday, April 19

Finally, my first actual day of class! (The woes of only taking three classes because I’m almost done.) But first, another doctor’s appointment in the morning, slightly less early. Then, coffee and breakfast with hubby, a quick League of Legends game, and double-checking I have everything I need in my backpack. Leaving for class with high spirits even though I’m far more tired than I’d like. Arriving early so trip to the copy shop to get my paper bound, which I need to hand in next week. Then settling near my classroom with an interesting book I’m reading for my Thursday class (and which I already owned before it was on our reading list because it sounded pretty good–and it is!). Slowly, a few other students arrive for class. We collectively move closer to the classroom door, I settle for reading on the floor after standing becomes too painful (knees and back). Prof doesn’t show up, we wait. And wait. And wait. Until at two thirty, fifteen minutes after our class should have been started, someone took pity on us and informed us of the fact that all classes for the day had been cancelled due to the Day of Teaching event. Yes, on a day of teaching, there’s no teaching. Go figure. So I slunk home, grumbling, hurting, disappointed.

Thursday, April 20

Trying to shove away that feeling of longing for class, and disappointment, because today’s class doesn’t start until week 2. Yep, that’s right, my third and last class for our starting week has been postponed because our prof isn’t back until next week.  I may or may not contact my GP’s office to make an appointment for some time soon-ish (honestly, I’ve already had enough doctors for one week, so might not get around to do this until next week). Spending the day gaming and reading, and studying Latin. Oh, and doing Sanskrit homework for next week Monday. Yay, something to do with my summer classes!

Friday, April 21

I have Fridays off, so I’m spending the day mostly relaxing (aka gaming, reading, sleeping, cuddling cats).

Saturday, April 22

Another day for relaxing and studying Latin and Sanskrit.

Sunday, April 23

Today, I’m not myself. We’re gaming with friends, so I get to switch out my own life for the life of my character, who definitely does not have fibro, or any other chronic illnesses.

Leave a Reply

