Random Gratefulness Post

I know I’ve been very quiet on here lately, which had one simple reason: I was overworked. I actually had to call in sick for work once, which I normally don’t do even when I have a cold (you won’t believe how quiet a room full of adults in an ESL class can be if you write on the board that you’re hoarse and can only whisper), and had to quit two of my university classes because I desperately needed the free morning to sleep in, to recharge my batteries. You see, I often have trouble sleeping, or falling asleep, and then days (a lot, actually) where I can sleep for twelve hours straight, wake up, and still have to fight to get out of bed (coinflip between forcing myself up or turning around to nap for another hour). Neither me nor my GP know the reason for this, so I’ll just take it as it comes and live with it as best as I can.

Now, because I had missed some classes due to struggling to keep up with everything (work comes first, so it was usually my morning with only university classes where I decided to stay in bed and recharge for the rest of the week), I finally wrote two of my professors a candid email talking about my chronic illnesses, my sleep problems, and apologizing profoundly. It was hard writing those emails, but what really made me all teary-eyed were their responses: Full of understanding, not being angry with me at all, one of them even offering to meet with me simply so that I could talk to someone about it all, since she figured it’d help (it did).

So today is my random post full of gratefulness for amazing university professors. Thank you, you’re doing a great job, and I’m glad to be able to call you my professors!

Leave a Reply

