My Journey to Sanskrit: Materials

So my professor uses this textbook (in German) by Eberhard Guhe (2008): Einführung in das klassische Sanskrit. Wiesbaden: Harrassowitz Verlag.

So far, it seems to be well-thought-out. It comprises 37 units and assumes that it will be used over the course of two semesters (which we’re going to do). So since I will miss about half of the first semester, I think I should probably work through the first 10 units before I join my class in December.

I read the introduction yesterday, and have started on unit 1 this evening. The first page lists the letters/characters of Sanskrit (how do you call them, actually? It says “alphabet”, so I’ll just go with “letters”), while the following seven and a half pages explain the pronunciation and writing system. The unit ends with about a page of exercises (and no, the book does not give us the key to the exercises, so I guess I’ll have to ask my professor to correct them for me).

Besides this textbook, he listed to grammar books (both also in German): Manfred Mayrhofer (1978): Sanskrit-Grammatik. Berlin: de Gruyter, and Sabine Ziegler (2012): Klassisches Sanskrit. Wiesbaden: Reichert Verlag.

I haven’t yet had time to give them a good look so here’s hoping I’ll be able to work well with them.

As far as pronunciation training goes, there seem to be some videos on Youtube for that, although it looks like I might have to search for the linguistic ones in a sea of yoga and meditation videos.

My first Sanskrit class will be on December 12, so T-109 days to nail the first quarter of my textbook.

Leave a Reply

